

To: Members of the County Council Date: 1 September 2015

Direct Dial: 01824712589

e-mail: dcc\_admin@denbighshire.gov.uk

### Dear Councillor

You are invited to attend a meeting of the COUNTY COUNCIL to be held at 10.00 am on TUESDAY, 8 SEPTEMBER 2015 in COUNCIL CHAMBER, COUNTY HALL, RUTHIN LL15 1YN.

Yours sincerely

G Williams Head of Legal, HR and Democratic Services

#### **AGENDA**

# PART 1 - THE PRESS AND PUBLIC ARE INVITED TO ATTEND THIS PART OF THE MEETING

### 1 APOLOGIES

# **2 DECLARATIONS OF INTEREST** (Pages 5 - 6)

Members to declare any personal or prejudicial interests in any business identified to be considered at this meeting.

### 3 URGENT MATTERS AS AGREED BY THE CHAIR

Notice of items which, in the opinion of the Chair, should be considered at the meeting as a matter of urgency pursuant to Section 100B(4) of the Local Government Act, 1972.

# 4 CHAIRMAN'S DIARY (Pages 7 - 8)

To note the civic engagements undertaken by the Chairman of the Council (copy attached).

# **5 MINUTES** (Pages 9 - 14)

To receive the minutes of the meeting of County Council held on 7 July 2015 (copy attached).

# 6 WALES AUDIT OFFICE (WAO) ANNUAL IMPROVEMENT REPORT (Pages 15 - 64)

To consider a report by the Strategic Planning & Performance Officer (copy attached) to inform Council of the WAO's conclusion and improvement proposals, and to secure Council endorsement of a response to the Report.

# 7 AGEING WELL IN DENBIGHSHIRE (Pages 65 - 106)

To consider a report by the Older People Strategy Development Officer (copy attached) to inform Council of Denbighshire's Ageing Well Plan and to secure Council endorsement of the Plan.

### 8 NOTICE OF MOTION

Councillor Paul Penlington put forward the following Notice of Motion for consideration by full Council:

"This Council believes that Fracking (hydraulic fracturing to access shale gas) and UCG (underground coal gasification) are unacceptably invasive industries that irreparably damage the natural environment at both local and regional levels.

We believe there are significant adverse impacts from both Fracking and UCG which include water table contamination, air pollution and the large scale production of contaminated waste.

Therefore, we are opposed to any exploration or developments of these industries within our county and are highly concerned by the impact upon us of developments across the region".

### 9 NOTICE OF MOTION

Councillor Bobby Feeley put forward the following Notice of Motion for consideration by full Council:

- 1. "Acknowledges and supports the good work undertaken by Denbighshire in providing a range of accommodation and or support services to vulnerable people to help them maintain or regain their place in the community in Denbighshire.
- Supports the continuance of the Supporting People preventative programme funded by Welsh Government to assist and support potentially vulnerable and marginalised people to live independently and with dignity in their community through housing related support and advice services.

- 3. Calls on the Welsh Government to safeguard and not to impose any further reduction to the Supporting People grant.
- 4. Supports the joint campaign of Cymorth Cymru charity and Community Housing Cymru 'Let's Keep on Supporting People" to safeguard the supporting people programme grant budget.
- 5. To invite all Members of the North Wales Regional Collaborative Committee (NWRCC) in their own areas and organisations to support this motion.
- 6. To invite Constituency and Regional Members of the Welsh Assembly to support this motion."

### 10 COUNTY COUNCIL FORWARD WORK PROGRAMME (Pages 107 - 110)

To consider the Council's forward work programme (copy attached).

#### **MEMBERSHIP**

### Councillors

Councillor Gwyneth Kensler (Chair) Councillor Ann Davies (Vice-Chair)

lan Armstrong Raymond Bartley Brian Blakeley Joan Butterfield

Jeanette Chamberlain-Jones

Bill Cowie Meirick Davies Richard Davies Stuart Davies Peter Duffy Hugh Evans Peter Evans Bobby Feeley Carys Guy

Huw Hilditch-Roberts Martyn Holland

Colin Hughes Rhys Hughes Hugh Irving Alice Jones Huw Jones

Pat Jones

Geraint Lloyd-Williams

Jason McLellan Barry Mellor

Win Mullen-James

Bob Murray
Peter Owen
Dewi Owens
Merfyn Parry
Paul Penlington
Pete Prendergast
Arwel Roberts
Anton Sampson
Gareth Sandilands
David Simmons
Barbara Smith
David Smith
Bill Tasker

Julian Thompson-Hill

Joe Welch Cefyn Williams Cheryl Williams Eryl Williams Huw Williams

# **COPIES TO:**

Press and Libraries Town and Community Councils